Using Web Mail

Using Horde Web Mail

URL for Horde:

webmail.yourdomainname.com (or .net or …..)

Enter your user name which, as default, is set to your e-mail address.

Enter your password.

Upon successful login you will see this screen:

horde-webmail-1-web

Clicking the mail icon on the left menu will bring you to the inbox, where you can perform email functions such as read/send/manage email.

horde-webmail-2-web

To read a message, simply click on the sender or subject.

horde-webmail-3-web

From this screen, you can delete, reply and forward your message.

Composing a message

To compose a message click on Compose from the top menu in the mail screen. This will bring up a message composition window.

horde-webmail-4-web

Changing Password

To change a password, open the My Account folder and select Password.

horde-webmail-5-web1
Type in the old password, new password and confirm then click Change Password.

Remember, the password is there to protect you and the rest of the internet from malicious attacks. It cannot be stressed enough that the password should be difficult to compromise. 6-8 characters, a mix of numbers, capital, and lower case letters is highly recommended. Never use the User ID as the password!

Logout of Horde

To logout click on the Log out button either on the left menu or on the top bar.

Deleting Emails with Horde

The Horde webmail can be configured to delete messages using two different methods, “delete mode” and “trash mode”. By default Horde is setup in “Delete Mode”. This document assumes that you have kept the default setting and does not cover “trash mode”.

  • Delete Mode: When set in Delete mode Horde will ‘mark’ messages for deletion. Horde does not move your messages to a different folder in this mode. Messages are not actually deleted until you decide to “Purge” your account.
  • Trash Mode: In trash mode, deleted email is moved to your Trash folder. The messages remain in your trash folder until you decide to delete them.

Delete Mode:

When set in Delete mode Horde will ‘mark’ messages for deletion. Horde does not move your messages to a different folder in this mode. Messages are not actually deleted until you decide to “Purge” your account.

In this example we have received a message that we would like to delete. First we click on the checkbox next to the message. Then we click on the “Delete” link. In the image below you will see that the checkbox next to the “Delete this message” email is checked. You will also notice a red rectangle around the “Delete” link.

horde_delete2

You will notice that the way the message is displayed changes after you click on the delete link. Now it appears to be marked out. This means that the message has been marked for deletion. The message has not actually been deleted yet. You can still view the message and even “Undelete” the message if you wish.

We have decided that we no longer want this message in our inbox. How do we get rid of it forever? In order to get rid of the email forever you will need to purge your deleted items. Purging your deleted items gets rid of ALL messages marked for deletion.

The “Purge Deleted” link is located on the right hand side of the screen. You will see the “Purge Deleted” link outlined in red in the image below. Clicking on this link will permanently delete all of your messages marked for deletion.

horde_purge_delete

If you have clicked on the Purge Deleted link you will have noticed that all of your messages that were marked for deletion have been removed from your inbox.